Fire Protection & Planning Fire Prevention & Planning
Burn Restrictions & Burn Permits
Last modified on Sep 04, 2015

CDF's Burn Restrictions and Burn Permits

During the summer, residential debris burning can be hazardous, so CDF suspends all burn permits. These restrictions are usually lifted in the winter months, but limitations may still be imposed by local air pollution control districts. For example, burning can only be done on permissive burn days.  To find out if it is a permissive burn day in your area, contact your local Air Pollution Control District.  Contact information may be found at the State Air Resources Board website. 

Before burning debris on your property, be sure to check with both CDF and your local air quality management agency.

Administrative Unit Suspension Effective Date
Amador-El Dorado Unit
Alpine County YES August 1, 2005
Amador County YES August 1, 2005
El Dorado County YES August 1, 2005
Butte Unit
Butte County NO  
Plumas County NO  
Fresno-Kings Unit
Fresno County YES July 11, 2005
Kings County YES July 11, 2005
Humboldt-Del Norte Unit
Del Norte County NO  
Humboldt County NO  
Kern County Unit
Kern County NO  
Lassen-Modoc Unit
Lassen County NO  
Modoc County NO  
Los Angeles County Unit
Los Angeles County NO  
Madera-Mariposa-Merced Unit
Madera County YES June 20, 2005
Mariposa County YES June 20, 2005
Merced County YES June 20, 2005
Marin County YES May 1, 2005
Mendocino Unit
Mendocino County NO  
Nevada-Yuba-Placer Unit
Nevada County NO  
Placer County NO  
Sierra County NO  
Sutter County NO  
Yuba County NO  
Orange County Unit
Orange County NO  
Riverside Unit
Riverside County NO  
San Benito-Monterey Unit
Monterey County NO  
San Benito County NO  
San Bernardino Unit
Inyo County NO  
Mono County NO  
San Bernardino County NO  
Santa Clara Unit
Alameda County NO  
Contra Costa County NO  
San Joaquin County NO  
Santa Clara County NO  
Stanislaus County NO  
San Diego Unit
Imperial County NO  
San Diego County NO  
San Luis Obispo Unit
San Luis Obispo County NO  
San Mateo-Santa Cruz Unit
San Mateo County NO  
Santa Cruz County NO  
Santa Barbara County Unit
Santa Barbara County NO  
Shasta-Trinity Unit
Shasta County NO  
Trinity County NO  
Siskiyou Unit
Siskiyou County NO  
Sonoma-Lake-Napa Unit
Colusa County NO  
Lake County NO  
Napa County NO  
Solano County NO  
Sonoma County NO  
Yolo County NO  
Tehama-Glenn Unit
Glenn County NO  
Tehama County NO  
Tulare Unit
Tulare County YES June 13, 2005
Tuolumne-Calaveras Unit
Calaveras County YES August 15, 2005
Tuolumne County YES August 15, 2005
Ventura County
Ventura County NO  
Fire Planning
More Info...